Cloud Statistics

There are three kinds of lies: lies, damned lies, and statistics.” – Mark Twain

I admit it – I’m a data junkie; and Tweetclouds is my new drug. It allows everyone to analyze Twitter accounts the way Sam Lawrence of Jive has number crunched to provide the frequency of words used on the blog of 10 bloggers he feels are thought leaders. Essentially the process boils down to creating a cartogram of words used and enlarges them based on frequency. The results are a unique window into the bloggers/tweeter’s mind.

There’s a number of social media metrics I’ve thought about, and I’ll probably blog about it later. I’m having too much fun with this new tool right now to do so. However, here’s two I ran and figured I’d share.

Am I different on Twitter vs. Blog?

My guess would have been yes, and the clouds below confirm my Twittergab is far more colloquial than my blog writing. My blog seems to be where I think and my Twitter account is where I network & socialize. Update: I’m not the only one fascinated with Tweetcloud it seems!

My Twittercloud

My Blogcloud

What’s (fill in a name) thinking?

I figured I’d try entering Lingling’s account into Tweetcloud and see what I come up with. The words that jump out are “Tiger” (her nickname for me), “good” and “happy”. So I guess she’s pretty happy, which makes me happy as well. 🙂

I’m going to post some more thought on this at a future point in time. For now, here are some thoughts I’ll tease you with – Will Twittercloud analysis become as common an HR proceedure as a background check for hiring? Will nerds like me run social media metrics prior to doing business with someone? Is this an effective (or ethical) way to get inside a prospect’s head for salespeople? What are the shortcomings and caveats here?

How would you use cloud statistics in business, or in your personal life?

This entry was published on April 7, 2008 at 5:47 PM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Cloud Statistics

  1. Pingback: | Mind Muse

  2. And thank you for your excellent post. To be honest, I can’t imagine hiring someone without looking at their Facebook/MySpace profile anymore (at least as much of it as I can access). I think it’s moving beyond just Silicon Valley. I work in politics, and there’s a very clear understanding that anything I put out there can and will be used against me.

  3. Very cool. We need more tools like this. Saves my weekends. 🙂

  4. Hi Sam, thanks for stopping by, I’m a big fan of Go Big Always.

Leave a Reply

