Blogger Code of Conduct

Looks like the blowup between Chris Locke and Kathy Sierra irked Tim O’Reilly enough to put this together.

As much a rock star as Tim is, I’ll go on record as saying I don’t like it. I’m not referring to the obvious enforceability issue. Nor am I referring to the idea that relatively uncensored, opinionated, gritty publications are “real” and hence more fun to connect to as a reader (give me the economist over newsweek anyday). My issue stems more from the standard itself. Who gets to say what is civil and what isn’t? This feels like the online equivalent of the “thought police”. A better alternative might be to provide indicators as to content, the way we do with movies.

Besides, a more stimulating conversation is always just a mouseclick away.

This entry was published on April 12, 2007 at 2:06 PM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment